Vigorexia an obsession for the physicist

Healthy mens in corpore sano, is the famous Latin quote that appeals to the need for a balanced spirit. When this perfect balance is broken and we become slaves to the cult of the physical, disorders such as vigorexia , which can cause psychological, cardiac and even death.

The vigorexia or muscle dysmorphia It was studied, for the first time in 1997, by Dr. Harrison G. Pope, a psychiatrist at the Mc Lean Hospital in Boston (United States). It was framed within a group of so-called disorders. body dysmorphisms , suffered by those people who do not feel comfortable with their own body and are obsessed with the improvement of certain physical defects.

For some experts, the vigorexia is the reverse of the anorexia nervosa . Given that the damage caused by this type of muscle dysmorphia they are not as visible as those in the anorexy , this anomaly has not been taken care of properly, and it can even cause the death of those who suffer it.

It particularly affects males

In accordance with Alfredo García Vázquez , of the Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health of the Faculty of Medicine of the UNAM, this disease affects basically young men. One of the most obvious characteristics of this disorder is that they become obsessed with their physique; they use steroids whose effects cause "a series of alterations in brain function that favor psychiatric illnesses such as depression , anxiety Y psychosis ”.

In addition, the use of steroids associated with subsistence allowance high in carbohydrates and proteins, and the exercise Excessive performance of this type of person affects the functioning of the heart, which can lead to death for long cardiac .

The vigorexia in figures

In the United States, a study revealed that of the nearly 9 million men who attend the gym, 900,000 suffer from vigorexia (ie, 10%) In Spain, similar work determined that there are about 700 thousand cases. Given that in Mexico it is a recent disease among the population, there are no figures, it is only known that it is presented by men between 17 and 35 years old.

If in the anorexy 90% of the affected population are women, in the vigorexia the percentage of males is the same, and this disorder could have causes as varied as a brain disorder in the parietal lobe , which is the region in which humans integrate our body image or the presence of emotional disturbances such as depression or the insecurity that the individual experiences when they can not adapt to the corporal fashions that the culture imposes.

If you are one of the people who exercise, Why do you do it: for health or for looking good?  


Video Medicine: Body Transformation: Jeff Cavaliere (MY STORY) (May 2021).

Vigorexia une obsession pour le physicien

Hommes en bonne santé dans le corpore sano, est la célèbre citation latine qui appelle à la nécessité d’un esprit équilibré. Lorsque cet équilibre parfait est rompu et que nous devenons esclaves du culte du physique, des troubles tels que Vigorexia , qui peut causer des conséquences psychologiques, cardiaques et même la mort.

Le Vigorexia o dysmorphie musculaire Il a été étudié pour la première fois en 1997 par le Dr Harrison G. Pope, psychiatre à l’hôpital Mc Lean de Boston (États-Unis), dans le cadre d’un groupe de soi-disant troubles. dysmorphismes corporels , souffrent de ceux qui ne se sentent pas à l’aise avec leur propre corps et qui sont obsédés par l’amélioration de certains défauts physiques.

Pour certains experts, le Vigorexia est l'inverse de la anorexie mentale . Étant donné que les dommages causés par ce type de dysmorphie musculaire ils ne sont pas aussi visibles que ceux de la anorexie , cette anomalie n’a pas été traitée comme il se doit, et elle peut même causer la mort de ceux qui la subissent.

Il affecte particulièrement les hommes

D'accord avec Alfredo García Vázquez , du département de psychiatrie et de santé mentale de la faculté de médecine de l'UNAM, cette maladie touche essentiellement les hommes jeunes. L’une des caractéristiques les plus évidentes de ce trouble est qu’elles deviennent obsédées par leur physique; ils utilisent des stéroïdes dont les effets provoquent "une série de modifications du fonctionnement du cerveau qui favorisent les maladies psychiatriques telles que: dépression , anxiété et psychose ”.

En outre, l'utilisation de stéroïdes associé à les régimes riche en glucides et en protéines, et le exercice Les performances excessives de ce type de personne affectent le fonctionnement du cœur, ce qui peut entraîner la mort pendant longtemps. cardiaque .

La vigorexia en chiffres

Aux États-Unis, une étude a révélé que sur près de 9 millions d'hommes fréquentant le gymnase, 900 000 souffrent de Vigorexia (c.-à-d. 10%) En Espagne, un travail similaire a permis de déterminer qu'il y avait environ 700 000 cas. Étant donné qu’au Mexique il s’agit d’une maladie récente de la population, il n’existe pas de chiffres, on sait seulement qu’elle est présentée par des hommes âgés de 17 à 35 ans.

Si dans le anorexie 90% de la population touchée sont des femmes, dans le Vigorexia le pourcentage d'hommes est le même, et ce trouble pourrait avoir des causes aussi variées qu'un trouble cérébral dans le lobe pariétal , qui est la région dans laquelle les humains intègrent notre image corporelle ou la présence de perturbations émotionnelles telles que dépression ou l'insécurité que ressent l'individu lorsqu'il ne peut pas s'adapter aux modes corporelles imposées par la culture.

Si vous êtes l'une des personnes qui exercent, Pourquoi le faites-vous: pour la santé ou pour bien paraître?  


Médecine Vidéo: Vigorexia. Un trastorno del fitness (Décembre 2022).