Factors of childhood obesity

Some chemical substances used in wrappers and plastic containers for food, could be contributing to the diabetes and childhood obesity, affirm new studies of Universities of New York (NYU) and Michigan , published in the Pediatrics magazine .

A study links phthalates to greater insulin resistance in children, while the other associates bisphenol A (BPA) with a high body mass index (BMI) and increasing waistlines, both due to the use of plastic containers.

You may also be interested: Does PVC plastic generate overweight?

 

Factors of childhood obesity

"There is a growing concern that environmental chemicals could be independent contributors to childhood diseases related to the obesity epidemic," he said. Dr. Leonardo Trasande, author of the study on phthalates and associate professor of pediatrics and environmental medicine at the NYU School of Medicine.

Phthalates are chemicals that are used to soften and increase the flexibility of plastics and vinyl. It is suspected that they are endocrine disruptors, and manufacturers have stopped using them in baby products, such as teething objects and pacifiers.

The study found that resistance to insulin in children increased along with the levels of a phthalate known as di-2-ethylhexylphthalate, or DEHP. "In particular, it is thought that they influence the genes that regulate the release of it, there are other potential mechanisms, but that is the main mechanism that concerns us."

You may also be interested: Childhood obesity grows due to little sleep

 

Prohibit some plastics for babies

In the other study, the Dr. Donna Eng and her research colleagues at the University of Michigan , found that high levels of BPA in the urine were associated with an increased risk of obesity.

BPA is used to produce polycarbonate and epoxy resins for a wide variety of products. For example, aluminum cans can use a BPA coating to prevent corrosion.

It has been linked to a wide variety of health problems, and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) from USA UU., Has prohibited its use in baby cups, bottles, infant formula packages and other plastic containers.


Video Medicine: Top 10 causes of obesity in children - Boston Children's Hospital - Top 20 Health Challenges (September 2021).

Facteurs d'obésité chez les enfants

Certaines substances chimiques utilisées dans les emballages et les contenants en plastique pour aliments pourraient contribuer à la le diabète et l'obésité infantile, affirment de nouvelles études sur Universités de New York (NYU) et du Michigan , publié au Magazine de pédiatrie .

Une étude lie les phtalates à une plus grande résistance à l'insuline chez les enfants, tandis que l’autre associe le bisphénol A (BPA) à un indice de masse corporelle élevé (IMC) et à une augmentation du tour de taille, tous deux dus à l’utilisation de contenants en plastique.

Vous pouvez également être intéressé: Le plastique PVC génère-t-il un excès de poids?

 

Facteurs d'obésité chez les enfants

"On craint de plus en plus que les produits chimiques de l'environnement puissent contribuer de manière indépendante aux maladies infantiles liées à l'épidémie d'obésité", a-t-il déclaré. Dr. Leonardo Trasande, auteur de l'étude sur les phtalates et professeur agrégé de pédiatrie et de médecine de l'environnement à la NYU School of Medicine.

Les phtalates sont des produits chimiques utilisés pour ramollir et augmenter la flexibilité des plastiques et du vinyle. On soupçonne que ce sont des perturbateurs endocriniens et les fabricants ont cessé de les utiliser dans des produits pour bébé, tels que des objets de dentition et des sucettes.

L’étude a révélé que la résistance à la l'insuline chez les enfants a augmenté avec les niveaux d'un phtalate connu sous le nom de phtalate de di-2-éthylhexyle, ou DEHP. "En particulier, on pense qu'ils influencent les gènes qui régulent la libération de celui-ci. Il existe d'autres mécanismes potentiels, mais c'est le mécanisme principal qui nous concerne."

Vous pouvez également être intéressé: L'obésité chez les enfants se développe en raison du manque de sommeil

 

Interdire certains plastiques pour les bébés

Dans l’autre étude, le Dr. Donna Eng et ses collègues de recherche à l'Université du Michigan , a révélé que des taux élevés de BPA dans l’urine étaient associés à un risque accru d’obésité.

Le BPA est utilisé pour produire des résines de polycarbonate et époxy pour une grande variété de produits. Par exemple, les canettes en aluminium peuvent utiliser un revêtement de BPA pour empêcher la corrosion.

Il a été associé à une grande variété de problèmes de santé et la Food and Drug Administration (FDA) des USA UU., A interdit son utilisation dans les tasses, biberons, emballages de préparations pour nourrissons et autres contenants en plastique pour bébés.


Médecine Vidéo: Surpoids des enfants : quelle prise en charge ? - Allô Docteurs du 26 octobre 2016 (Octobre 2020).