Basic

Fiber increases longevity

Increasing fiber intake can increase longevity, according to a group of scientists, who conducted a large government study in the United States. The research determined a link between high-fiber diets and a reduction in the risk of death, not only due to heart disease, but also infectious or respiratory. The conclusion is that diets high in fiber from grains increase the strength of the organism. Read More

10 tips for living with post-polio syndrome

The Mexican Organization for the Knowledge of the Late Effects of Polio (OMCETPAC) recommends a series of practical tips to facilitate the life and integration of people who already suffer or may suffer the late effects of polio and post-polio syndrome. The top 10 are: Read More

5 tips to care for the elderly

This August 28 is celebrated in Mexico on the day of the grandfather, who is a fundamental part in our lives. According to the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS), between 30 and 50% of people over 65, who are independent and living in their home, have suffered at least one fall at home per year. Therefore, here we give you some advice, to protect them and take care of them, since they have done it for many years. So take note and treat them as they deserve: Read More

5 tips against osteoarthritis

The risk of contracting osteoarthritis occurs more frequently in older adults, although scientists believe that the cause also depends on the part of the body that is involved. Read More

5 tips to live with your granddaughters and grandchildren

The bond that exists between grandmothers, grandparents and their grandchildren and grandchildren is very special. For this reason, it is very important that you have the patience to live with them, since in addition to strengthening family ties, it is possible to have a good time. Here are some alternative activities that can be done to promote and strengthen the link between generations: 1.- Encourages the habit of reading. In addition to promoting love and taste for reading, they can live together more, interact and their union will become stronger. Read More

7 home remedies to fight aging

Aging is a normal fact of life, but if you want to stay young despite age, here are 7 natural components that help keep the body healthy. Carrots are rich in beta-carotene. Studies show that eating one a day can reduce aging, in addition to preventing many diseases. Carrots can be eaten raw, cooked, mixed in food or in a juice. Read More

7 tips to care for a bladder catheter

Bladder or urinary catheters are used to drain the bladder and a doctor may recommend its use in case of urinary incontinence (leakage or inability to control urination), urinary retention (being unable to empty the bladder when needed); surgery on the prostate or genitals, or other medical conditions such as multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injury or dementia. Read More

8 tips for moving to a retirement home

Your elderly relatives are among the most important people in your life. When the time comes and they have to be moved to a retirement home, or if they live with you, remember to take special care. The elderly tend to be undoubtedly too sensitive with the fact of moving to another place. Therefore, it is important to consider the following tips to help you make the transition easier. Read More

5 recommendations for choosing a diaper for seniors

The health and hygiene of the elderly is of vital importance, so we give you five recommendations for you to learn how to choose the diaper for the elderly. Find out the details. 1.- Check the waist measurement data, to know if it corresponds to the needs of the patient. 2.- Read the label so you know the characteristics of the diaper. Read More

Older adults will work in 2010 Census

As older adults are an active and important part of society, the federal government included them as part of the work for the 2010 Census that will take place from May 31 to June 25, 2010. Directors of Inapam and INEGI agreed. in which older adults have work experience, since their knowledge and skills are important in every area of ​​work. Read More

Older adults prone to drink more

In recent years there has been a 163% increase in hospital admissions related to alcohol in adults over 65, more than in any other social segment in London, according to the NHS Information Center and figures published by the BBC Read More

Love after 65 years

The ability to love and the ability to be loved are the two basic conditions of the quality of life of the elderly. Read More

Goodbye to the denture

There are people who still think that losing their teeth is a natural stage of aging. This is a big lie. Oral care and hygiene in elderly people is, in fact, more delicate than in any other phase of life and should be done regularly to prevent painful diseases, loss of teeth and improper mastication. Read More

Low temperatures affect older people more

According to a research by the National Institute of Health and Medical Research of Paris (INSERM), although winter temperatures increase the blood pressure of the entire population, in the case of people in old age there is a greater susceptibility to said reaction. Read More

A simple fall can change your life

Over the years, the reflexes no longer work as before. A long series of changes in vision, hearing, muscle strength and coordination are occurring. Balance can also be affected by diabetes and heart disease, or by circulatory, thyroid or nervous system problems. Some medications can cause dizziness. In older people, any of these problems increases the likelihood of a fall and, of course, a fracture. Read More

Diaper change and incontinence clothes

There are transient or permanent diseases that force many adults to stay bedridden for a long time or, perhaps, for the rest of their days. Whether due to a neurological condition (such as senile dementias and cerebrovascular accidents), due to cardiopulmonary diseases, or as a result of a traumatic accident, among other causes, many patients have urinary and fecal incontinence problems that require them to use diapers to Adults. Read More

Keys to improve the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren

The grandparents are today the people in charge of taking care of the grandchildren, because the parents must go out to work. According to the "Guide on the influence of grandparents on healthy habits", it is vital that there are healthy behaviors in the family, since they are at the extremes of life and require specific care to take care of their health. GetQoralHealth.com, tells you this August 28th Grandparent Day what these measures are. Read More

How to prevent heart attacks

Changes in strict diet and lifestyle can not prevent myocardial infarctions directly, but they can reverse the blockage of the arteries, according to a study that showed that a vegetarian diet, moderate exercise, a daily hour of yoga and meditation can reverse the Read More

How to find an institution for seniors

If you want to take care of an elderly relative, it is essential to understand that this is a full-time job and that sometimes you will not have the time to carry it out and more if it is an activity additional to your regular occupations. Read More

De base

La fibre augmente la longévité

Augmenter la consommation de fibres peut augmenter la longévité, selon un groupe de scientifiques qui ont mené une grande étude gouvernementale aux États-Unis. La recherche a établi un lien entre les régimes riches en fibres et une réduction du risque de décès, non seulement dû à une maladie cardiaque, mais également infectieuse ou respiratoire. La conclusion est que les régimes riches en fibres provenant de céréales augmentent la force de l'organisme. Lire La Suite

10 conseils pour vivre avec le syndrome post-polio

L’Organisation mexicaine pour la connaissance des effets tardifs de la polio (OMCETPAC) recommande une série de conseils pratiques pour faciliter la vie et l’intégration des personnes qui souffrent déjà ou pourraient souffrir des effets tardifs de la polio et du syndrome post-polio. Les 10 meilleurs sont: Lire La Suite

5 conseils pour prendre soin des personnes âgées

Le 28 août est célébré au Mexique le jour du grand-père, qui joue un rôle fondamental dans nos vies. Selon l'Institut mexicain de la sécurité sociale (IMSS), entre 30 et 50% des personnes âgées de plus de 65 ans, indépendantes et vivant chez elles, ont subi au moins une chute chez elles chaque année. Par conséquent, nous vous donnons ici quelques conseils pour les protéger et prendre soin d’eux, car ils le font depuis de nombreuses années. Alors prenez note et traitez-les comme ils le méritent: Lire La Suite

5 astuces contre l'arthrose

Le risque de contracter l'arthrose est plus fréquent chez les personnes âgées, bien que les scientifiques pensent que la cause dépend également de la partie du corps impliquée. Lire La Suite

5 conseils pour vivre avec vos petites-filles et petits-enfants

Le lien qui existe entre les grands-mères, les grands-parents et leurs petits-enfants et petits-enfants est très particulier. Pour cette raison, il est très important que vous ayez la patience de vivre avec eux, car en plus de renforcer les liens familiaux, il est possible de passer du bon temps. Voici quelques activités alternatives qui peuvent être faites pour promouvoir et renforcer le lien entre les générations: 1.- Encourage l'habitude de lire. En plus de promouvoir l'amour et le goût pour la lecture, ils peuvent davantage vivre ensemble, interagir et leur union devenir plus forte. Lire La Suite

7 remèdes maison pour lutter contre le vieillissement

Le vieillissement est un fait normal de la vie, mais si vous voulez rester jeune malgré votre âge, voici 7 composants naturels qui aident le corps à rester en bonne santé. Les carottes sont riches en bêta-carotène. Des études montrent que manger une fois par jour peut réduire le vieillissement, en plus de prévenir de nombreuses maladies. Les carottes peuvent être consommées crues, cuites, mélangées dans des aliments ou dans un jus. Lire La Suite

7 astuces pour prendre soin d'un cathéter à vessie

Une vessie ou des cathéters urinaires sont utilisés pour drainer la vessie et un médecin peut en recommander l’utilisation en cas d’incontinence urinaire (fuite ou incapacité à contrôler la miction), rétention urinaire (incapacité de vider la vessie en cas de besoin); une intervention chirurgicale sur la prostate ou les organes génitaux, ou d'autres conditions médicales telles que la sclérose en plaques, une lésion de la moelle épinière ou la démence. Lire La Suite

8 conseils pour déménager dans une maison de retraite

Vos parents âgés sont parmi les personnes les plus importantes de votre vie. Le moment venu, ils doivent être transférés dans une maison de retraite ou s’ils habitent avec vous, n’oubliez pas de faire très attention. Les personnes âgées ont tendance à être sans doute trop sensibles au fait de déménager ailleurs. Par conséquent, il est important de prendre en compte les conseils suivants pour vous aider à faciliter la transition. Lire La Suite

5 recommandations pour choisir une couche pour les personnes âgées

La santé et l'hygiène des personnes âgées revêtant une importance vitale, nous vous donnons cinq recommandations pour que vous sachiez comment choisir la couche pour personnes âgées. Découvrez les détails. 1.- Vérifiez les données de mesure du tour de taille pour savoir si elles correspondent aux besoins du patient. 2.- Lisez l'étiquette pour connaître les caractéristiques de la couche. Lire La Suite

Les aînés travailleront lors du recensement de 2010

Les personnes âgées constituant une partie active et importante de la société, le gouvernement fédéral les a incluses dans le travail du recensement de 2010 qui se déroulera du 31 mai au 25 juin 2010. Les directeurs d'Inapam et de l'INEGI ont accepté. dans laquelle les personnes âgées ont une expérience professionnelle, leurs connaissances et leurs compétences étant importantes dans tous les domaines. Lire La Suite

Au revoir à la prothèse

Il y a des gens qui pensent encore que perdre leurs dents est une étape naturelle du vieillissement. C'est un gros mensonge. Les soins et l'hygiène bucco-dentaires chez les personnes âgées sont en réalité plus délicats que dans toute autre phase de la vie et doivent être effectués régulièrement pour prévenir les maladies douloureuses, la perte de dents et une mastication inappropriée. Lire La Suite

Une simple chute peut changer votre vie

Au fil des ans, les réflexes ne fonctionnent plus comme avant. Une longue série de modifications de la vision, de l'audition, de la force musculaire et de la coordination se produit. L’équilibre peut également être affecté par le diabète et les maladies cardiaques, ou par des problèmes circulatoires, thyroïdiens ou du système nerveux. Certains médicaments peuvent provoquer des vertiges. Chez les personnes âgées, l’un de ces problèmes augmente le risque de chute et, bien sûr, de fracture. Lire La Suite

Changement de couches et vêtements pour incontinence

Il existe des maladies transitoires ou permanentes qui obligent de nombreux adultes à rester cloués au lit pendant longtemps, voire peut-être le reste de leurs jours. Que ce soit en raison d'une affection neurologique (telle que démences séniles et accidents vasculaires cérébraux), en raison de maladies cardiopulmonaires ou à la suite d'un accident traumatique, entre autres causes, de nombreux patients souffrent d'incontinence urinaire et fécale qui les oblige à utiliser des couches les adultes Lire La Suite

Des clés pour améliorer les relations entre grands-parents et petits-enfants

Les grands-parents sont aujourd'hui les personnes chargées de prendre soin des petits-enfants, car les parents doivent se rendre au travail. Selon le "Guide sur l’influence des grands-parents sur les habitudes saines", il est essentiel que la famille adopte un comportement sain, car elle est aux extrêmes de la vie et a besoin de soins particuliers pour prendre soin de sa santé. GetQoralHealth.com, vous indique ce que sont ces mesures ce 28 août. Lire La Suite

Comment prévenir les crises cardiaques

Les changements de régime strict et de mode de vie ne peuvent pas prévenir directement les infarctus du myocarde, mais ils peuvent inverser le blocage des artères, selon une étude montrant qu'un régime végétarien, un exercice modéré, une heure quotidienne de yoga et de méditation peuvent inverser le Lire La Suite