How does an excess of confidence develop?

Element, that to a lesser or greater degree, is present in the human being, the trust has as objective in our life to help us to assume risk and reduce the stress that this implies, since it is expected that the choice made is correct. However, what happens when there is an excess of confidence?

According to Dictionary of the Royal Spanish Academy, Trust can be defined as the firm hope you have of someone, or the security that you have in yourself. But in many cases an exaggerated sense of one's own abilities develops, an illusion in which one has control over uncontrollable events and which are invulnerable to risk.

This situation can have a dramatic influence on decisions, producing errors.

 

How does an excess of confidence develop?

1. Greater risks. An investigation carried out by Dominic Johnson and James Fowler, of the University of Edinburgh and the University of California, San Diego , indicates that the excess of confidence increases according to the magnitude of the lack of certainty. Therefore, the higher the risk, the more self-confidence the subject should develop.

2. Victory. When we achieve what we want, we confirm the certainty of our actions or beliefs. Before observing the circumstances that favored the success we prefer to simply attribute that "victory" to our capabilities. This begins a circle that constantly reaffirms self-confidence.

3. Emotional relationships. For Paula Man, sports psychologist, this state can be reaffirmed or increased by comments from family, friends or partner, that feed or exalt the qualities of the person.

Although in their study Johnson and Fowler, they point out that if the potential reward is at least twice as high as the cost of competing, then overconfidence becomes the best strategy. On average, overconfidence is even advantageous since it increases the ambition, determination, morals and persistence of the individual.

Although the problem of this condition arises when the person makes a mistake, since there is a feeling of guilt, failure and frustration.

Remember, all excesses are bad, but to be able to face life is necessary the confidence in oneself. Find your own balance.


Video Medicine: 7 Traits of a Strong Personality Any Person Can Develop (November 2022).

Comment se développe un excès de confiance?

Élément qui, dans une moindre mesure, est présent dans l'être humain, la confiance a pour objectif dans notre vie de nous aider à assumer les risques et à réduire le stress que cela implique, dans la mesure où le choix est correct. Cependant, que se passe-t-il quand il y a un excès de confiance?

Selon Dictionnaire de l'Académie royale espagnole, La confiance peut être définie comme le ferme espoir que vous avez de quelqu'un ou la sécurité que vous avez en vous-même. Mais dans de nombreux cas, un sens exagéré de ses propres capacités se développe, une illusion dans laquelle on contrôle des événements incontrôlables et qui sont invulnérables au risque.

Cette situation peut avoir une influence considérable sur les décisions, en produisant des erreurs.

 

Comment se développe un excès de confiance?

1. Plus de risques. Une enquête menée par Dominic Johnson et James Fowler, de l'Université d'Edimbourg et de l'Université de Californie à San Diego , indique que l'excès de confiance augmente en fonction de l'ampleur du manque de certitude. Par conséquent, plus le risque est élevé, plus le sujet devrait avoir confiance en lui.

2. la victoire. Lorsque nous réalisons ce que nous voulons, nous confirmons la certitude de nos actions ou de nos convictions. Avant d'observer les circonstances qui ont favorisé le succès, nous préférons simplement attribuer cette "victoire" à nos capacités. Cela commence un cercle qui réaffirme constamment la confiance en soi.

3. relations émotionnelles. Pour Paula Man, psychologue du sport, cet état peut être réaffirmé ou augmenté par les commentaires de la famille, des amis ou du partenaire, qui nourrissent ou exaltent les qualités de la personne.

Bien que, dans leur étude, Johnson et Fowler, ils soulignent que si la récompense potentielle est au moins deux fois supérieure au coût de la concurrence, la confiance excessive devient alors la meilleure stratégie. En moyenne, l'excès de confiance est même avantageux car il augmente l'ambition, la détermination, la morale et la persistance de l'individu.

Bien que le problème de cette condition se pose lorsque la personne commet une erreur, il existe un sentiment de culpabilité, d’échec et de frustration.

N'oubliez pas que tous les excès sont mauvais, mais pour pouvoir faire face à la vie, il faut avoir confiance en soi. Trouvez votre propre solde.


Médecine Vidéo: Avoir confiance en soi en 5min - 6 faits scientifiques surprenants (Janvier 2021).