Drugs and routes of administration

The routes of administration of the medicines are the entry routes to organism influencing the latency, intensity and duration of the pharmacological effect . According to Dr. Yamilka L. Sánchez, an academic Department of Pharmacology of the Faculty of Medicine-University of Panama , knowing the advantages and disadvantages of these pathways is very important to know how to take advantage of medicines in a certain situation.

Depending on which one is chosen, the speed of action, efficacy and adverse effects of the drugs will depend. The routes of administration are classified as: 1) Enteral.- When drugs are introduced into the body through the natural orifices of the body and related to the intestine and gastrointestinal tract: oral, sublingual or rectal 2) Parenteral.- To be infiltrated by a hypodermic hollow needle 3) Topical.- When medications are administered to the skin or mucous membranes for a local effect 4) Transdermal.- When applied by patches on the skin for a systemic effect

 

Oral and sublingual medications

According to the specialist, the medication administered orally has numerous advantages: it is comfortable, simple, economical, safe and allows self-administration. However, they have their disadvantages: some cause irritation and affect the stomach pH; Its absorption is irregular, some drugs require the previous intake of food, others destroy enzymes and natural bacteria in the body and, in some cases, the patient forgets to take them.

The medicines that are placed under the tongue have the advantage of being absorbed quickly and almost do not affect the liver; however, they have the disadvantage that the absorption area is small and not all drugs can be administered by this route.

 

Rectal and injectable medications

Drugs applied rectally, although they can cause irritation and discomfort, have the advantage that they are useful in patients who can not swallow, who present intense vomiting and are suitable in the case of unconscious patients.

On the other hand, the advantage of injections is that they have a rapid effect and are useful in the treatment of emergencies and in unconscious patients. Its disadvantages? The asepsis, are painful and expensive, do not allow self-administration and, in any case, requires trained or trained personnel to apply them.

In the case of oily or irritant substances, it is important to know what type of injection is best, either intravenous or intramuscular, and although the effect of both is prolonged and sustained, there is also a risk of adverse reactions in certain patients and some may interfere with anticoagulants.

 

Drugs by inhalation and topical administration

Finally, Dr. Sánchez notes that the administration of drugs by inhalation is welcome because the surface of absorption is broad and allows a great blood supply, its effects are local and systemic and avoids the so-called first pass effect. The bad thing is that they can cause irritation, there is a difficult handling of certain pharmaceutical forms and you can not regulate the amount of medication that the person receives.

In the case of the route of topical administration, the systemic reactions decrease and its effects are well localized, although it can produce irritation and, in some cases, the dose can not be regulated.


Video Medicine: PHARMACOLOGY; ROUTES OF DRUG ADMINISTRATION by Professor Fink (June 2021).

Drogues et voies d'administration
pharmacologie

Drogues et voies d'administration

Les voies d'administration de la médicaments sont les voies d'entrée à organisme influençant la latence, l'intensité et la durée de la effet pharmacologique . Selon le Dr. Yamilka L. Sánchez, une universitaire Département de pharmacologie de la faculté de médecine de l'Université de Panama , connaître les avantages et les inconvénients de ces voies est très important pour savoir comment tirer parti des médicaments dans certaines situations.

Selon la personne choisie, la rapidité d'action, l'efficacité et les effets indésirables des médicaments dépendront. Les voies d'administration sont classées comme suit: 1) Entérale.- Lorsque des médicaments sont introduits dans le corps par les orifices naturels du corps et liés à l'intestin et au tractus gastro-intestinal: oral, sublingual ou rectal 2) Parenteral.- Être infiltré par une aiguille creuse hypodermique 3) Topique.- Lorsque des médicaments sont administrés sur la peau ou les muqueuses pour un effet local 4) Transdermal.- Appliqué par patch sur la peau pour un effet systémique

 

Médicaments buccaux et sublinguaux

Selon le spécialiste, le médicament administré par voie orale présente de nombreux avantages: il est confortable, simple, économique, sûr et permet une auto-administration. Cependant, ils ont leurs inconvénients: certains provoquent une irritation et affectent le pH de l'estomac; Son absorption est irrégulière, certains médicaments nécessitent l’alimentation préalable, d’autres détruisent les enzymes et les bactéries naturelles du corps et, dans certains cas, le patient oublie de les prendre.

Les médicaments placés sous la langue ont l'avantage d'être absorbés rapidement et n'affectent presque pas le foie; Cependant, ils ont l'inconvénient que la zone d'absorption est petite et que tous les médicaments ne peuvent pas être administrés par cette voie.

 

Médicaments rectaux et injectables

Les médicaments appliqués par voie rectale, bien qu'ils puissent provoquer une irritation et une gêne, ont l'avantage d'être utiles chez les patients qui ne peuvent pas avaler, qui présentent des vomissements intenses et qui conviennent aux patients inconscients.

D'autre part, l'avantage des injections est qu'elles ont un effet rapide et sont utiles dans le traitement des urgences et chez les patients inconscients. Ses inconvénients? Les asepsies, douloureuses et coûteuses, ne permettent pas l'auto-administration et nécessitent, dans tous les cas, un personnel formé ou formé pour les appliquer.

Dans le cas de substances huileuses ou irritantes, il est important de savoir quel type d’injection est le meilleur (intraveineux ou intramusculaire). Bien que l’effet des deux soit prolongé et prolongé, il existe également un risque de interférer avec les anticoagulants.

 

Médicaments par inhalation et administration topique

Enfin, le Dr Sánchez note que l'administration de médicaments par inhalation est la bienvenue, car la surface d'absorption est large et permet un bon apport sanguin, ses effets sont locaux et systémiques et évitent le soi-disant effet de premier passage. La mauvaise chose est qu'ils peuvent causer une irritation, il y a une manipulation difficile de certaines formes pharmaceutiques et vous ne pouvez pas réguler la quantité de médicament que la personne reçoit.

Dans le cas de la voie d'administration topique, les réactions systémiques diminuent et ses effets sont bien localisés, bien que cela puisse provoquer une irritation et, dans certains cas, la dose ne puisse pas être régulée.

Médecine Vidéo: 01 - Drogues et substances actives (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes

L'abus de stéroïdes peut vous causer ceci ...

Pourquoi renforcer la relation avec votre partenaire?

7 conseils pour se sentir mieux avec l'ayurveda