Restless Legs Syndrome affects more women

Sleep A 'loose leg' could be a simple expression that denotes rest without worry, if it is not associated with Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS), which deals with a serious problem of health that affects 8% of the world population.

Although the syndrome affects both sexes, it has a higher incidence in women, and can start at any age, even from childhood. Pregnant women, for example, present it temporarily until they feel relief after giving birth. However, most of the severely affected patients are of middle age or older adults and with chronic diseases such as renal failure, diabetes or Parkinson's disease.

 

Tingling that forces the movement of feet

It is a neurological disorder characterized by an unpleasant sensation of discomfort in the lower extremities that causes irresistible impulses to move them, forcing the sufferer to get up and walk or massage.

Many people who suffer from it describe the sensation as a tingling sensation accompanied by numbness of the legs that is only relieved by movement; Generally, these sensations occur deep inside the limb, between the knee and the ankle, and are less frequent in the feet, thighs, arms and hands.

If the SPI is not treated medically, it causes exhaustion and fatigue during the day, lack of concentration, impaired memory and insomnia for long periods. All this can degenerate into depression and, therefore, into the deterioration of their quality of life.

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke of the United States (NINDS) warns about the fact that many people do not seek medical attention because they are unaware that there is treatment and medication to control RLS.

Research lines in Mexico

Specialists from the National Institute of Psychiatry Ramón de la Fuente Muñiz (INPRFM) study this disorder through several lines of research. One of them is the analysis of poor nutrition and anemia problems in those who suffer from it, since this could be related to cerebral iron levels.

Another area of ​​study has to do with sleep processes: by observing how patients sleep and knowing their family history, hereditary factors that could influence the problem can be identified.

The INPRFM researchers also study the neurophysiology behind the disease, in particular, nerve conduction velocities.


Although there are no figures for the Mexican population that suffers from RLS, experts estimate that it could occur in one in 10 individuals at some point in their lives.


The Restless Legs Syndrome can stop being a torture, if it is attended opportunely going to the doctor. Watch your health!


Video Medicine: Relieving Restless Leg Syndrome (June 2021).

Le syndrome des jambes sans repos affecte plus de femmes

Dormir Une «jambe lâche» pourrait être une expression simple qui dénote un repos sans souci, si elle n’est pas associée au syndrome des jambes sans repos (RLS), qui traite problème grave de la santé qui touche 8% de la population mondiale.

Bien que le syndrome affecte les deux sexes, son incidence est plus élevée chez les femmes et peut commencer à tout âge, même dès l'enfance. Les femmes enceintes, par exemple, la présentent temporairement jusqu'à ce qu'elles se sentent soulagées après avoir accouché. Cependant, la plupart des patients gravement atteints sont des adultes d'âge moyen ou plus âgés et atteints de maladies chroniques telles que l'insuffisance rénale, le diabète ou la maladie de Parkinson.

 

Un picotement qui force le mouvement des pieds

Il s’agit d’un trouble neurologique caractérisé par une désagréable sensation d’inconfort des membres inférieurs qui provoque des impulsions irrésistibles pour les déplacer, ce qui oblige le patient à se lever et à marcher ou à se faire masser.

Beaucoup de personnes qui en souffrent la décrivent comme une sensation de picotement accompagnée d'un engourdissement des jambes que seul le mouvement soulage; Généralement, ces sensations se manifestent au plus profond du membre, entre le genou et la cheville, et sont moins fréquentes au niveau des pieds, des cuisses, des bras et des mains.

Si le SPI n'est pas traité médicalement, il provoque épuisement et fatigue pendant la journée, manque de concentration, troubles de la mémoire et insomnie pendant de longues périodes. Tout cela peut dégénérer en dépression et donc en détérioration de la qualité de vie.

L'Institut national des troubles neurologiques et des accidents cérébrovasculaires des États-Unis (NINDS) met en garde sur le fait que de nombreuses personnes ne consultent pas un médecin car elles ne savent pas qu'il existe un traitement et des médicaments pour lutter contre le syndrome des jambes sans repos.

Lignes de recherche au Mexique

Les spécialistes de l'Institut national de psychiatrie Ramón de la Fuente Muñiz (INPRFM) étudient ce trouble au travers de plusieurs axes de recherche. L’un d’eux est l’analyse des problèmes de malnutrition et d’anémie chez ceux qui en souffrent, car cela pourrait être lié aux taux de fer cérébral.

Un autre domaine d'étude concerne les processus du sommeil: en observant comment les patients dorment et en connaissant leurs antécédents familiaux, il est possible d'identifier les facteurs héréditaires susceptibles d'influencer le problème.

Les chercheurs de l'INPRFM étudient également la neurophysiologie à l'origine de la maladie, en particulier les vitesses de conduction nerveuse.


Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de chiffres concernant la population mexicaine qui est atteinte du SJSR, les experts estiment que cela pourrait se produire chez une personne sur dix à un moment donné de leur vie.


Le syndrome des jambes sans repos peut cesser d'être une torture s'il est soigné pour aller chez le médecin. Prends soin de ta santé!


Médecine Vidéo: Syndrome des jambes sans repos : un trouble neurologique très commun (Septembre 2020).