Advantages of implants to listen better

The great German composer and musician, Ludwig van Beethoven, who was losing his hearing from the age of 28, said: "Never break the silence if not to improve it." At 45, Beethoven He was completely deaf and his life became a torment.

Fortunately, today, it is already possible to break that silence to improve the situation in which they live, according to the World Health Organization, 278 million people suffering from moderate to profound deafness in both ears, thanks to implants cochlear . According to figures from the Ministry of Health of Mexico, around four thousand children are born with hearing problems a year that, if not detected in time, will be condemned to suffer some degree of disability throughout their lives, including the stage of older adults.

 

  • Differences between a cochlear implant and a hearing aid

A cochlear implant is a small, complex electronic device that can help provide some sense of hearing sounds to a person who is profoundly deaf or has severe hearing difficulties. The implant consists of an external part that is located behind the ear, and a second part that is placed by surgery under the skin. The difference in relation to a hearing aid is important.

The hearing aids amplify the sounds so that the injured ears can detect them; while cochlear implants avoid passing through the injured parts of the ear and directly stimulate the auditory nerve. The signals generated by the implant are sent through the auditory nerve to the brain, which recognizes the signals as sound. Hearing by means of a cochlear implant differs from normal hearing and, it must be said, takes a while to learn or relearn. However, it allows many people to recognize warning signs, understand other sounds of the environment and enjoy a conversation personally or over the phone.


Video Medicine: The Advantage of Getting Dental Implants As Compared to Using Dentures (September 2021).

Avantages des implants pour mieux écouter

Le grand compositeur et musicien allemand, Ludwig van Beethoven, qui avait perdu l'audition à partir de 28 ans, a déclaré: "Ne rompez jamais le silence si ce n'est pour l'améliorer." À 45 ans, Beethoven Il était complètement sourd et sa vie est devenue un supplice.

Heureusement, aujourd’hui, il est déjà possible de rompre ce silence pour améliorer la situation D'après l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé compte 278 millions de personnes souffrant de surdité modérée à profonde des deux oreilles, grâce à des implants. cochléaire . Selon les chiffres du ministère de la Santé du Mexique, environ quatre mille enfants naissent avec problèmes d'audition une année qui, si elle n’est pas détectée à temps, sera condamnée à subir un certain degré de handicap tout au long de sa vie, y compris le stade de vie des personnes âgées.

 

  • Différences entre un implant cochléaire et un appareil auditif

Un implant cochléaire est un petit appareil électronique complexe qui peut aider à donner une sensation auditive à une personne profondément sourde ou qui a de graves difficultés auditives. L'implant est composé d'une partie externe située derrière l'oreille et d'une seconde partie placée sous chirurgie sous la peau. La différence par rapport à une aide auditive est importante.

Les aides auditives amplifient les sons pour que les oreilles blessées puissent les détecter. tandis que les implants cochléaires évitent de passer à travers les parties lésées de l'oreille et stimulent directement le nerf auditif. Les signaux générés par l'implant sont envoyés au cerveau par le nerf auditif, qui reconnaît les signaux en tant que son. Entendre au moyen d'un implant cochléaire diffère de l'audition normale et, il faut le dire, prend un certain temps pour apprendre ou réapprendre. Cependant, cela permet à de nombreuses personnes de reconnaître les signes d’avertissement, de comprendre les autres bruits de l’environnement et de participer à une conversation en personne ou au téléphone.


Médecine Vidéo: VLOG 1 - Je teste un nouvel appareil auditif - Vivien Apprendre à écouter (Septembre 2021).