Biological therapies against rheumatoid arthritis

The outlook for patients with rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is very encouraging thanks to the research and development of new treatments , particularly the so-called biological that inhibit the progression of joint damage by blocking the effect of IL-6 (interleukin 6). That administered in the right patient, you can achieve remission of the disease , that is to say, a control of symptoms in the patient that allows him to recover his quality of life and productivity, since if the RA is not treated it becomes incapacitating, assured Dr. Juan Manuel Miranda Limón , specialist in Rheumatology.

Among the therapeutic options we have specialists to treat rheumatoid arthritis are the callsbiological therapies that imply benefits in thequality of life of patients ", explained Dr. Juan Manuel Miranda Limón.

"The biological treatments have been designed to block or inhibit specific cells or substances that participate in the development of the disease. These drugs have played a key role in the management of the disease and currently patients under this treatment scheme have slowed the progression of arthritis. "

Interviewed after the Mexican-Canadian Congress of Rheumatology held in Cancun, Quintana Roo, the expert explained that at this academic meeting the most recent advances for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis were addressed. "Year after year, new results emerge, in particular, those that provide clinical evidence of efficacy and patient safety," he said.

When abounding on the disease, the expert explained that it is a condition that it affects to almost 1% of the general population . "It is very important to make clear, that the AR still has no cure , so not treated in a timely manner is a important cause of disability ”.

According to Dr. Juan Manuel Miranda Limón , rheumatoid arthritis even it affects family income considerably because it affects people economically active, before which achieving the remission of the disease is a cornerstone in the treatment.

 

Tocilizumab a new treatment

About the treatments and biological therapies , the also researcher on rheumatic diseases , explained that in the Mexican-Canadian Congress of Rheumatology it was said that "among the most recent therapies it stands out Tocilizumab which is a new medicine that acts inhibiting a substance called Interleukin-6 ”.

The previous one is key in the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA), since Interleukin-6 is very high in patients with RA and is associated with factors of bad prognosis as the joint destruction and with various manifestations of this disease in other organs than the joints.

"The evidence of this treatment has been presented in national and international congresses in which the percentage of treated patients who have reached the remission of the disease , in addition to the speed of action of this medicine, because from the second week of its application has proven to have an impact not only on symptom joints but also in the manifestations as anemia and fatigue, common in patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis, "said Doctor Juan Manuel Miranda Limón.

To an express question, the expert explained that the remission of the disease it is established as a state in which the progress of the disease is slowed down and, therefore, reduced at least the associated signs and symptoms like pain and inflammation. "All this must be corroborated by laboratory studies that help evaluate this state as C-reactive protein (CRP)."

Other weapons -he added- are useful standardized tools to determine if the patient with RA is in remission or in the opposite case, what is the level of progression activity which can be from mild, moderate or severe known as Disease Activity Score (DAS28).

It has been proven that one third of patients with Tocilizumab they reached total remission at 24 weeks and at 52 weeks more than half of the patients have achieved remission: Two out of three patients are in remission at two years.


Video Medicine: Novel Treatments for Rheumatoid Arthritis (June 2021).

Thérapies biologiques contre la polyarthrite rhumatoïde

Les perspectives pour les patients atteints de polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR) sont très encourageantes grâce à la recherche et au développement de nouvelles traitements , en particulier le soi-disant biologique qui inhibent la progression de dommages articulaires en bloquant l'effet de l'IL-6 (interleukine 6). Que administré chez le bon patient, vous pouvez atteindre rémission de la maladie c'est-à-dire un contrôle des symptômes chez le patient lui permettant de retrouver sa qualité de vie et sa productivité, car si la PR n'était pas traitée, elle devenait invalidante, a assuré le Dr Juan Manuel Miranda Limón , spécialiste en rhumatologie.

Parmi les options thérapeutiques que nous avons des spécialistes pour traiter la polyarthrite rhumatoïde sont les appelsthérapies biologiques qui impliquent des avantages dans lequalité de vie des patients ", a expliqué le Dr Juan Manuel Miranda Limón.

"Le traitements biologiques ont été conçus pour bloquer ou inhiber des cellules spécifiques ou des substances qui participent au développement de la maladie. Ces médicaments ont joué un rôle clé dans la gestion de la maladie et, actuellement, les patients sous ce schéma de traitement ont ralenti la progression de l’arthrite. "

Interviewé à la suite du Congrès mexicano-canadien de rhumatologie tenu à Cancun, Quintana Roo, l'expert a expliqué que lors de cette réunion académique, les avancées les plus récentes en matière de traitement de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ont été abordées. "Année après année, de nouveaux résultats apparaissent, en particulier ceux qui fournissent des preuves cliniques d'efficacité et de sécurité des patients", a-t-il déclaré.

En abondant dans la maladie, l'expert a expliqué que c'est une condition qui affecter presque 1% de la population générale . "Il est très important de préciser que le RA n'a toujours pas de remède , afin de ne pas être traité à temps est un cause importante d'invalidité ”.

Selon le Dr Juan Manuel Miranda Limón , la polyarthrite rhumatoïde même affecter le revenu familial considérablement parce qu'il affecte les gens économiquement actif, avant lequel la rémission de la maladie est une pierre angulaire du traitement.

 

Tocilizumab un nouveau traitement

A propos des traitements et thérapies biologiques , également chercheur sur maladies rhumatismales , a expliqué qu'au Congrès mexicano-canadien de rhumatologie, il était dit que "parmi les thérapies les plus récentes, Tocilizumab qui est un nouveau médicament qui agit inhibant une substance appelée L'interleukine-6 ”.

La précédente est essentielle dans le traitement de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR), car l'interleukine-6 ​​est très élevée chez les patients atteints de PR et est associée à des facteurs de mauvais pronostic comme la destruction conjointe et avec diverses manifestations de cette maladie dans d'autres organes que les articulations.

"Le des preuves de ce traitement a été présenté à des congrès nationaux et internationaux dans lesquels le pourcentage de patients traités ayant atteint le rémission de la maladie , en plus de la rapidité d'action de ce médicament, car à partir de la deuxième semaine de son application s'est avéré avoir un impact non seulement sur les symptômes articulations mais aussi dans le les manifestations comme anémie et fatigue, fréquente chez les patients atteints de polyarthrite rhumatoïde ", a déclaré le Docteur Juan Manuel Miranda Limón.

A une question expresse, l'expert a expliqué que le rémission de la maladie il est établi comme un état dans lequel la progression de la maladie est ralentie et, par conséquent, réduite au moins les signes et symptômes associés comme la douleur et l'inflammation. "Tout cela doit être corroboré par des études de laboratoire qui permettent d'évaluer cet état en tant que protéine C-réactive (CRP)."

Les autres armes - ajoutent-ils - sont des outils normalisés utiles pour déterminer si le patient atteint de PR est en rémission ou, dans le cas contraire, quel est le niveau de activité de progression qui peut être légère, modérée ou grave connue sous le nom Score d'activité de la maladie (DAS28).

Il a été prouvé qu'un tiers des patients atteints de Tocilizumab ils ont atteint rémission totale à 24 semaines et à 52 semaines, plus de la moitié des patients ont atteint une rémission: deux patients sur trois sont en rémission à deux ans.


Médecine Vidéo: 36.9° - Pour que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ne dévore plus les articulations (Septembre 2021).