Health a - z

Sleep apnea a general picture

Almost 30 million Mexicans are affected by sleep apnea, one of the most frequent sleep disorders; It is associated with 98% of patients with excess weight, warned Matilde Valencia Flores, a researcher at the Faculty of Psychology of the UNAM. Apnea causes interruptions of breathing, causes snoring and a fragmented sleep. Each episode is accompanied by a sudden attempt to breathe and a change to a lighter sleep stage. Read More

Mexican Association of Gastroenterology celebrates 75 anniversary

In the commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of the Mexican Association of Gastroenterology, held at the General Hospital of Mexico on July 16. The Secretary of Health, José Ángel Córdoba Villalobos stressed that the development and advancement of this specialty is one of the engines that have driven medicine in Mexico and has allowed to project national medicine with international recognition. Read More

Benefits of prostheses

When a person has some physical disability, for certain circumstances, they often resort to the use of prostheses. The purpose of these, is to replace a part of the body that has been lost by an amputation or by a genetic malformation. Read More

Type 2 diabetes grows in children

Type 2 diabetes mellitus, which is usually associated with adults, is already present in children. In this regard, Sara Arellano, head of the Department of Endocrinology of the General Hospital of Mexico, said that five years to date have been reported 600 cases of this metabolic disorder in children under 18 years. Read More

Endoscopic capsule for colon cancer

The endoscopic colon capsule is an innovative instrument of millimeter size that allows diagnosing, in a precise way, diseases such as cancer, ulcers, diverticula and polyps (lesions) in the colon. Read More

Multiple sclerosis and obesity in adolescents

There is some research that says that obese adolescents have a higher risk of developing multiple sclerosis MS, compared to those who are not. According to an investigation in 238,371 women between 25 to fifty-five years of age. They were asked a questionnaire about their behavior with the sense of their health every two years. In more than forty years, 593 of the respondents developed multiple sclerosis. The respondents Read More

Lack of day and night can harm miners' health

The 33 Chilean miners trapped 700 meters underground, at the San José mine, are still waiting to be rescued. The psychologist Alberto Iturra Benavides lives only 35 kilometers from the mine and has been called by the government to attend to the workers and their possible changes in behavior derived from the confinement. Read More

Work of nurses

This day is celebrated the International Day of the Nurse, also called "White Angels" for social work and the importance they play in the world. However, this, like other careers, requires vocation and dedication. In Mexico, the Day of the Nurse was instituted on January 6, 1921; since 1907 it was considered a profession and nowadays, there is a bachelor's degree and specialty in nursing. Read More

Mexico number 1 in adult obesity

According to the study carried out by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), entitled: "Obesity and the economy of prevention", in Mexico 30% of adults suffer from obesity and 69.5% are overweight. In this sense, the OECD indicates that the United States went to the second place in the list, when before it had occupied the first, data from 2008 refer that 27.5% of US citizens are obese and 68% are overweight. Read More

OECD highlights Mexico's work against obesity

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) presented the report "Obesity and the economy of prevention", which examines the characteristics of the growing global epidemic of obesity and provides comparative information on a comprehensive and multisectoral strategy against obesity . Read More

Origin of vaccines

The discovery of the immunological mechanism of vaccination and the different ways of applying it are historically linked to the fight against smallpox. According to the WHO, the administration of a small amount of the virus by nasal inhalation or by small incisions in the skin, useful to create resistance to a disease began in Central Asia from the 10th century. Read More

Cholera spreads to the Dominican Republic

The Florida Department of Epidemiology reported that they have a woman living in Collier County who was infected with cholera in Haiti. Apparently, the woman traveled to that nation to visit her family, but upon her return she was hospitalized after diagnosing cholera symptoms. The diagnosis was "confirmed by the laboratories" of the aforementioned county, but the Department clarifies that it is in good condition. Read More

Santé a - z

Apnée du sommeil une image générale

L'apnée du sommeil, l'un des troubles du sommeil les plus fréquents, touche près de 30 millions de Mexicains. Il est associé à 98% des patients présentant un excès de poids, a averti Matilde Valencia Flores, chercheuse à la Faculté de psychologie de l'UNAM. L'apnée provoque des interruptions de la respiration, provoque le ronflement et un sommeil fragmenté. Chaque épisode est accompagné d’une tentative soudaine de respiration et d’un passage à une phase de sommeil plus légère. Lire La Suite

L'association mexicaine de gastroentérologie célèbre son 75e anniversaire

À la commémoration du 75e anniversaire de l’Association mexicaine de gastroentérologie, qui a eu lieu à l’hôpital général de Mexico le 16 juillet. Le secrétaire à la Santé, José Ángel Córdoba Villalobos, a souligné que le développement et l'avancement de cette spécialité sont l'un des moteurs qui ont poussé la médecine au Mexique et ont permis de projeter la médecine nationale avec une reconnaissance internationale. Lire La Suite

Avantages des prothèses

Lorsqu'une personne a un handicap physique, dans certaines circonstances, elle a souvent recours à des prothèses. Celles-ci ont pour but de remplacer une partie du corps perdue à la suite d'une amputation ou d'une malformation génétique. Lire La Suite

Le diabète de type 2 se développe chez les enfants

Le diabète sucré de type 2, généralement associé aux adultes, est déjà présent chez les enfants. À cet égard, Sara Arellano, chef du département d’endocrinologie de l’hôpital général du Mexique, a déclaré qu’au cours des cinq dernières années, 600 cas de ce trouble métabolique auraient été rapportés chez des enfants de moins de 18 ans. Lire La Suite

Capsule endoscopique pour le cancer du côlon

La capsule endoscopique du côlon est un instrument novateur de taille millimétrique qui permet de diagnostiquer de manière précise des maladies telles que le cancer, les ulcères, les diverticules et les polypes (lésions) du côlon. Lire La Suite

Sclérose en plaques et obésité chez les adolescents

Certaines recherches indiquent que les adolescents obèses ont un risque plus élevé de développer la sclérose en plaques par rapport à ceux qui ne le sont pas. Selon une enquête menée auprès de 238 371 femmes âgées de 25 à 55 ans. On leur a posé un questionnaire tous les deux ans sur leur comportement avec le sens de leur santé. En plus de quarante ans, 593 des répondants ont développé la sclérose en plaques. Les répondants Lire La Suite

Le manque de jour et de nuit peut nuire à la santé des mineurs

Les 33 mineurs chiliens bloqués à 700 mètres sous terre, à la mine de San José, attendent toujours d'être sauvés. Le psychologue Alberto Iturra Benavides ne vit qu'à 35 kilomètres de la mine et a été appelé par le gouvernement pour s'occuper des travailleurs et de leurs éventuels changements de comportement découlant de l'enfermement. Lire La Suite

Travail d'infirmières

Cette journée est célébrée la Journée internationale des infirmières, également appelée "Anges Blancs" pour le travail social et l'importance qu'ils jouent dans le monde. Cependant, comme d’autres carrières, il faut une vocation et un dévouement. Au Mexique, la Journée de l'infirmière a été instituée le 6 janvier 1921; depuis 1907, il était considéré comme une profession et, de nos jours, il existe un baccalauréat et une spécialité en soins infirmiers. Lire La Suite

Mexique numéro 1 de l'obésité chez l'adulte

Selon une étude de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) intitulée "L'obésité et l'économie de la prévention", au Mexique, 30% des adultes sont obèses et 69,5% en surpoids. En ce sens, l'OCDE indique que les États-Unis sont passés à la deuxième place de la liste, alors qu'avant 2008, les données de 2008 indiquaient que 27,5% des citoyens américains étaient obèses et 68% en surpoids. Lire La Suite

L'OCDE met en avant le travail du Mexique contre l'obésité

L'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) a présenté le rapport "L'obésité et l'économie de la prévention", qui examine les caractéristiques de l'épidémie mondiale croissante d'obésité et fournit des informations comparatives sur une stratégie globale et multisectorielle de lutte contre l'obésité. . Lire La Suite

Origine des vaccins

La découverte du mécanisme immunologique de la vaccination et de ses différentes modalités d'application est historiquement liée à la lutte contre la variole. Selon l'OMS, l'administration d'une petite quantité du virus par inhalation nasale ou par de petites incisions cutanées, utile pour créer une résistance à une maladie, a débuté en Asie centrale à partir du 10ème siècle. Lire La Suite

Le choléra s'étend à la République dominicaine

Le Département d'épidémiologie de Floride a signalé qu'une femme vivant dans le comté de Collier était infectée par le choléra en Haïti. Apparemment, la femme s'est rendue dans ce pays pour rendre visite à sa famille, mais à son retour, elle a été hospitalisée après avoir diagnostiqué les symptômes du choléra. Le diagnostic a été "confirmé par les laboratoires" du comté susmentionné, mais le département a précisé qu'il était en bon état. Lire La Suite