Tailored organs for transplant

It sounds like science and fiction, but it is not. The Gregorio Marañón Hospital de Madrid has the first laboratory in the world specialized in the manufacture of organs Y bioartificial tissues , through adult stem cells, with the aim of being able to use them in people who need a transplant. At the moment, work is being done only with hearts and, according to the doctor Francisco Fernández Avilés , head of the Hospital Cardiology Service and project coordinator, the procedure consists in "eliminating all cellular content "from the organ of a cadaver donor" but maintaining the three-dimensional structure of the same intact, including glasses Y valves ".

Once this process is completed, these structures can be maintained stored for months in a bank of matrices so that, when they may be needed for a transplant , can be "sown" in them the adult stem cells of the receiver that needs it, since this structure induces and guides the proliferation , distribution Y specialization of said cells.

This regenerative technique has already been tested with success in small animals and currently, thanks to the collaboration with a team from the University of Minnesota (United States), led by the doctor Doris Taylor , are working on the first animal transplant, planned for pigs this year. In the case of humans , the technique advances more slowly although within a short time it is hoped that "a piece of cadaver organ will have the ability to beat". The first transplant of bioartificial organ in humans it could see the light within "about five or ten years".

Organs and tissues bioartificiales: a milestone of regenerative medicine

At the moment, they have already been emptied of cellular content eight hearts, all coming from donors deceased whose organs can not be used for a transplant conventional but whose structures are intact. This process of elimination is usually done in three or four days, while the "recellularization "of the organ once the receiver can be done in a couple of months, Fernández Avilés .

However, the duration of both interventions varies depending on the size of the organ. "Although it looks like science and fiction, it is not," says this expert, who adds that, despite having started with the heart to be the most complex organ, in the future also can be manufactured other organs such as liver , pancreas or lungs . In this way, one of the great problems of transplantation, such as tissue rejection , since the matrices used are inert and, therefore, "have no response capacity immunological by having less than 5% of DNA , so they are not recognized by the receiver as strange but own. "

For his part, one of the most recognized nephrologists in Europe and director of the National Transplant Organization of Spain, the doctor Rafael Matesanz , has highlighted the importance of this advance since all transplant patients suffer some type of rejection "sooner or later", which in the case of the heart can lead to death in some occasions despite the current range of drugs to treat these rejections. Likewise, the problem of searching for organs that exists today could be solved, given that only a small proportion of the people who need a transplant "They end up getting an organ".


Video Medicine: ABTO (Brazilian Association of Organ Transplant) - Bentley Burial (June 2021).

Organes sur mesure pour la transplantation

Cela ressemble à de la science et de la fiction, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Le Hôpital Gregorio Marañón de Madrid a le premier laboratoire au monde spécialisé dans la fabrication de les organes et tissus bioartificiels , par l’intermédiaire de cellules souches adultes, dans le but de pouvoir les utiliser chez des personnes ayant besoin d’une greffe. En ce moment, le travail est en cours seulement avec des coeurs et, selon le médecin Francisco Fernández Avilés responsable du service de cardiologie hospitalière et coordinateur de projet, la procédure consiste à "éliminer contenu cellulaire "de l'organe d'un donneur de cadavre" mais en maintenant le structure tridimensionnelle du même intact, y compris des lunettes et vannes ".

Une fois ce processus terminé, ces structures peuvent être maintenues stocké pendant des mois dans une banque de matrices afin que, lorsqu'elles sont nécessaires pour un greffe , peuvent être "semées" en elles les cellules souches adultes du récepteur qui en ont besoin, puisque cette structure induit et guide le prolifération , distribution et spécialisation desdites cellules.

Cette technique régénérative a déjà été testée avec réussi chez les petits animaux et actuellement, grâce à la collaboration avec une équipe du Université du Minnesota (États-Unis), dirigé par le médecin Doris Taylor , travaillent sur la première transplantation d’animaux, prévue pour les porcs cette année. Dans le cas de les humains , la technique avance plus lentement bien que dans un court laps de temps, on espère qu’un «organe d’organe de cadavre aura la capacité de battre». La première greffe de organe bioartificiel chez l'homme, il pourrait voir la lumière dans "environ cinq ou dix ans".

Organes et tissus bioartificiales: un jalon de la médecine régénérative

Pour le moment, ils ont déjà été vidés de contenu cellulaire huit coeurs, tous venant de donneurs décédé dont les organes ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour une greffe conventionnel mais dont les structures sont intactes. Ce processus d'élimination se fait généralement en trois ou quatre jours, le "recellularisation "de l'organe une fois la récepteur peut être fait en quelques mois, Fernández Avilés .

Cependant, la durée des deux interventions varie en fonction de la taille de l'organe. "Bien que cela ressemble à de la science et de la fiction, ce n'est pas le cas", déclare cet expert, qui ajoute que, bien que le cœur ait commencé à être l'organe le plus complexe, il est désormais possible de fabriquer d'autres organes tels que le foie , pancréas o les poumons . De cette façon, l’un des grands problèmes de la transplantation, tel que rejet de tissu , puisque les matrices utilisées sont inertes et, par conséquent, "n’ont pas de capacité de réponse immunologique en ayant moins de 5% de ADN , donc ils ne sont pas reconnus par le récepteur aussi étrange mais propre. "

Pour sa part, l’un des néphrologues les plus reconnus d’Europe et directeur de l’Organisation nationale des greffes d’Espagne, le docteur Rafael Matesanz , a souligné l’importance de cette avancée puisque tous les patients transplantés souffrent d’un type de rejet "tôt ou tard", ce qui dans le cas du coeur peut conduire à la mort dans certaines occasions malgré la gamme actuelle de médicaments pour traiter ces rejets. De même, le problème de la recherche d’organes existant aujourd’hui pourrait être résolu, étant donné que seule une faible proportion des personnes nécessitant un greffe "Ils finissent par avoir un organe".


Médecine Vidéo: Pologne: une greffe du visage réalisée dans l'urgence - science (Septembre 2020).