Differences between asthma and COPD

There are common and distinctive features between asthma Y COPD However, the main difference between both diseases lies in the loss and recovery of lung function, as well as in the process of inflammation of the airways, explains the Dr. Alejandra Ramírez-Venegas, specialist of the National Institute of Respiratory Diseases (INER).

According to the also Director of the COPD Clinic of the INER , the main difference between both respiratory diseases is that in the case of asthma (except for its chronic condition) there is the reversibility of air capacity, while in the Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) It is lost gradually and without reversibility.

You may also be interested in: Respiratory diseases, 3rd cause of death

 

Differences between asthma and COPD

It is estimated that there are around 7 million people in Mexico with asthma , reason why it is considered one of the ten main causes of specialty consultation; however, more than 50% of detected cases have been controlled, so it does not have a high mortality rate.

Instead, theCOPD , which is estimated to suffer nearly 2 million Mexicans, is considered the fifteenth cause of death in men and fourth in women, since its diagnosis is usually very late and the loss of lung function, which is even disabling .

"TheCOPD has a higher mortality rate than other diseases, such as breast, prostate, cervical cancer or that HIV is AIDS, "explains the INER specialist.

Prevalence is another of the major differences between both diseases, because most of the cases of asthma They are diagnosed in children and under 14 years of age, which is accentuated in those who have a high susceptibility to different allergens.

On the contrary, theCOPD it is commonly registered in adults, and the disease is aggravated especially with age and in those who have been or are smokers (passive or active).

The oxidative stress or oxidative activity is a characteristic of both asthma and COPD , although it is more important in the latter because it generates an increase in hydrogen peroxide, nitric acid, mucus secretion and bronchoconstriction. All this intervenes in the bronchial obstruction and the destruction of the pulmonary parenchyma.

The response to treatment is different in both, explains Ramírez-Vanegas, due to the inflammation that characterizes the asthma it is suppressed notably by corticoids, which inhibit almost all phases or aspects of inflammation; however, they have a very limited action in the COPD .

There are several more differences between the asthma Y COPD , as well as common characteristics, such as wheezing, so, according to the specialist, only through a diagnosis and adequate forecasts can the best treatment conditions for each one be established.


Video Medicine: STEP Asthma and COPD: Similarities and Differences (September 2022).

Différences entre l'asthme et la MPOC

Il existe des traits communs et distinctifs entre l'asthme et MPOC Cependant, la principale différence entre les deux maladies réside dans la perte et la récupération de la fonction pulmonaire, ainsi que dans le processus d'inflammation des voies respiratoires, explique la Dr. Alejandra Ramírez-Venegas, spécialiste de l'Institut national des maladies respiratoires (INER).

Selon le aussi Directeur de la clinique de MPOC de l'INER , la principale différence entre les deux maladies respiratoires est que, dans le cas de l'asthme (sauf pour son état chronique), il y a la réversibilité de la capacité de l'air, alors que dans le Maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) Il se perd progressivement et sans réversibilité.

Vous pouvez également être intéressé par: Maladies respiratoires, 3ème cause de décès

 

Différences entre l'asthme et la MPOC

On estime qu’il ya environ 7 millions de personnes au Mexique atteintes de l'asthme , raison pour laquelle il est considéré comme l’une des dix causes principales de la consultation spécialisée; Cependant, plus de 50% des cas détectés ont été contrôlés, de sorte que le taux de mortalité n'est pas élevé.

Au lieu de cela, leMPOC qui est estimé à près de 2 millions de Mexicains, est considérée comme la quinzième cause de décès chez les hommes et la quatrième chez les femmes, car son diagnostic est généralement très tardif et la perte de la fonction pulmonaire, qui est même invalidante .

"LeMPOC a un taux de mortalité plus élevé que d’autres maladies, telles que cancer du sein, de la prostate et du col utérin ou que le VIH est le SIDA ", explique le spécialiste de l'INER.

La prévalence est une autre des différences majeures entre les deux maladies, car la plupart des cas de l'asthme Ils sont diagnostiqués chez les enfants et les moins de 14 ans, ce qui est accentué chez ceux qui ont une forte sensibilité à différents allergènes.

Au contraire, leMPOC il est couramment enregistré chez l'adulte et la maladie s'aggrave particulièrement avec l'âge et chez les fumeurs ou les fumeurs (passifs ou actifs).

Le stress oxydatif ou l'activité oxydante est une caractéristique à la fois de l'asthme et MPOC , bien qu’il soit plus important dans ce dernier cas car il génère une augmentation du peroxyde d’hydrogène, de l’acide nitrique, de la sécrétion de mucus et de la bronchoconstriction. Tout cela intervient dans l'obstruction bronchique et la destruction du parenchyme pulmonaire.

La réponse au traitement est différente dans les deux cas, explique Ramírez-Vanegas, en raison de l'inflammation qui caractérise la l'asthme il est inhibé notamment par les corticoïdes, qui inhibent presque toutes les phases ou tous les aspects de l'inflammation; cependant, leur action est très limitée dans le MPOC .

Il existe plusieurs autres différences entre le l'asthme et MPOC , ainsi que des caractéristiques communes, telles que la respiration sifflante, ainsi, selon le spécialiste, seul le diagnostic et des prévisions adéquates permettent d’établir les meilleures conditions de traitement pour chacun d’entre eux.


Médecine Vidéo: Comprendre la BPCO en 3D (Octobre 2020).