Sprains in every stage of life

The saying goes that "the Three Musketeers are not the same as 20 years later". And, in the matter of injuries, contractures and sprains, each stage of life has its particularities. According to specialists from Mexican Social Security Institute (IMSS), while among children from 6 to 13 years of age, bruises or traumatisms mild are very common; in the adult stage, lumbar and cervical sprains, as well as tendonitis and sprains in the shoulder and lower extremities are the most frequent injuries. According to Dr. Ricardo Lamadrid Monroy, head of Physical Consultation and Rehabilitation in the Southern Unit of the IMSS, older adults report mild cases of tears and sprains that respond favorably with a simple treatment.

What happens among young people?

According to the specialist, the sports injuries they occupy sixth place in the demand for consultation. Examples of this are the weekend soccer players, mostly young people who, without doing a proper warm-up, suffer muscular injuries at the level of knee, ankle, shoulder and elbow ligaments. They also suffer injuries to the thigh and Achilles tendon, as well as fractures of the tibia, fibula, ankle, patella, rupture of the tendon of the knee, or Achilles heel at the level of the ankle. Other important injuries they are the lumbar tear and rupture of the biceps, in which, sometimes, surgery, traumatology or orthopedic treatment is required. In the service of emergencies , cases of tearing and rupture of tendons in young people are frequently attended. On the other hand, adults between 20 and 55 years old have lesions of the shoulder, the rotator cuff (upper arm), the lumbar spine, the knee; Ankle sprains or damage to the Achilles tendon, although in this age group the risks are slightly lower because they practice sport with some moderation.

Consequences of a badly care sprain

In the opinion of the IMSS specialists, a badly attended sprain can cause joint instability, which implies an increased risk of suffering new Sprains and dislocations in the future. If it is a muscular strain or in the tendon it is imperative to ensure a correct position during its healing, otherwise that area of ​​our musculature could be weakened. It will also be necessary a correct phase of recovery, as well as the strengthening of the injured area.


Video Medicine: Dance Moms: Nia Sprains Her Ankle (Season 2 Flashback) | Lifetime (May 2022).

Entorses à chaque étape de la vie

Le dicton dit que "les trois mousquetaires ne sont pas les mêmes que vingt ans plus tard". Et, en ce qui concerne les blessures, les contractures et les entorses, chaque étape de la vie a ses particularités. Selon les spécialistes de Institut mexicain de sécurité sociale (IMSS), alors que chez les enfants de 6 à 13 ans, ecchymoses o traumatismes doux sont très fréquents; au stade adulte, les entorses lombaires et cervicales, ainsi que les tendinites et les entorses de l'épaule et des membres inférieurs sont les blessures les plus fréquentes. Selon le Dr Ricardo Lamadrid Monroy, responsable de la consultation physique et de la réadaptation à l'unité sud de l'IMSS, les personnes âgées signalent de légers cas de déchirures et d'entorses qui répondent favorablement à un traitement simple.

Que se passe-t-il chez les jeunes?

Selon le spécialiste, le blessures sportives ils occupent la sixième place dans la demande de consultation. Les footballeurs du week-end en sont des exemples. Ce sont principalement des jeunes qui, sans se réchauffer correctement, souffrent de blessures musculaires au niveau des ligaments du genou, de la cheville, de l'épaule et du coude. Ils souffrent également de blessures à la cuisse et au tendon d’Achille, ainsi que de fractures au tibia, au péroné, à la cheville, à la rotule, à la rupture du tendon du genou ou au talon d’Achille au niveau de la cheville. Autre blessures importantes il s’agit de la déchirure lombaire et de la rupture du biceps, nécessitant parfois une intervention chirurgicale, une traumatologie ou un traitement orthopédique. Au service de les urgences , on assiste fréquemment à des cas de déchirure et de rupture des tendons chez les jeunes. Par ailleurs, les adultes âgés de 20 à 55 ans présentent des lésions de l’épaule, de la coiffe des rotateurs (haut du bras), de la colonne lombaire, du genou; Entorses de la cheville ou dommages au tendon d’Achille, bien que, dans ce groupe d’âge, les risques soient légèrement inférieurs, car ils pratiquent un sport avec modération.

Conséquences d'une entorse mal soignée

Selon les spécialistes de l'IMSS, une entorse mal assistée peut provoquer une instabilité articulaire, ce qui implique un risque accru de subir de nouvelles crises. Entorses et luxations dans le futur. S'il s'agit d'une tension musculaire ou du tendon, il est impératif de garantir une position correcte pendant la guérison, sinon cette partie de la musculature pourrait être affaiblie. Il faudra également une phase de récupération correcte, ainsi que le renforcement de la zone lésée.


Médecine Vidéo: double entorse en tyrolienne (Septembre 2021).