Metabolic

50% of those who suffer a heart attack lose their lives

According to César Rodríguez, president of the Latin American Council of Cardiovascular Care, approximately 50% of people who suffer a heart attack lose their lives before reaching the hospital. This condition represents the first cause of death in Mexico and the main risk factors to develop it are: Read More

Diabetic ketoacidosis can be deadly

Diabetes mellitus (DM) is considered a public health problem whose incidence continues to grow worldwide. In Mexico there are more than four million people with this condition, and just over a million who have not yet been diagnosed. Read More

Control diabetes this Christmas

To enjoy the wonders of the holiday season, it is necessary to take into account the risks for diabetics. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of the United States government suggest some practical tips that patients can implement during the holidays. To not interrupt the feeding plan: Read More

Figures in Mexico of obesity in the elderly

The National Health and Aging Study in Mexico, carried out in 2000, indicates that approximately 30% of the older adult population analyzed was malnourished and 15% were obese. Malnutrition is more common among residents of rural areas than among urban residents, while obesity is more prevalent in urban areas. Read More

Cholesterol is more frequent in men

Currently, the population in the Federal District is characterized by a pattern of very high triglyceride values; for cholesterol levels that exceed the figure that is considered acceptable, which is 200 milligrams per deciliter of blood. Although this problem does not cause direct discomfort, it can damage the arteries of the brain and heart, the abdominal viscera and the lower limbs. Other effects that can result are cardiovascular disease, in particular, ischemic heart disease, and high blood pressure, because the fat plates accumulate inside the arteries and this makes it difficult for blood to pass through. arteries, and can chronically Read More

Daniel von Bargen tries to commit suicide

The attempt of suicide of Daniel von Bargen has generated surprise in the society. The actor, known as the "Mr. Kruger" in the television series Seinfeld, shot himself in the temple with a Colt38 pistol to "escape" from the complications generated by diabetes. Read More

Diabetes mellitus and older adults

It is one of the most frequent non-contagious diseases in the world. This is diabetes mellitus, a group of metabolic diseases that have in common the presence of an increase in sugar (glucose) in the blood, due to an alteration in the secretion of insulin by the pancreas or a lack of efficacy of its action on the tissues of the body. Read More

Dibetes and mortality in the elderly

Until August 2010; 22 thousand 30 adults had been detected with diabetes in Mexico. In an interview with Dr. María Esther Lozano Dávila. Deputy Director of Aging for Preventive Programs and Disease Control, talks about diabetes. Read More

Diverticulosis is common in older adults

If you are one of the people who consume processed foods, you should know that you are not getting enough fiber in your diet, and it is very likely that you suffer from constipation, hard stools and you have to make a lot of effort at the time of going to the bathroom. These actions could increase the pressure in your colon and generate diverticulosis, which is the formation of small bags or sacs in the inner lining of the intestines, mainly in the thick. Causes and risk factors According to specialists from the National Institutes of Health of the United States, the causes of the formation of bags or bags of diverticulosis are unknown; howev Read More

Diabetes in the elderly

Diabetes is a disease in which the body does not produce insulin or does not use it properly. Insulin is a hormone needed to transform sugar, starch and other foods into the energy we need for our daily lives. In an interview with Dr. María Esther Lozano Dávila. Deputy Director of Aging for Preventive Programs and Disease Control, talks about diabetes. Read More

Lack of B vitamins cause depression and fatigue

The lack of vitamins B1, B6 and B12, is a common cause of depression, fatigue and loss of muscle mass in older adults, said Dr. Martín Dávalos Gómez, a geriatric specialist at the Mexican Social Security Institute (IMSS) in Jalisco. The doctor mentioned that the deficiency of vitamin B12 is a cause of sarcopenia, a disorder characterized by the decrease of muscle mass, thinning and fragility. Read More

Impact of overweight and obesity in women

The situation is worrisome: in 20 states of the country, 10 of them located in the northern region, the prevalence of obesity exceeds the national average, which is 32.4%. The bad news is for the female population: in those states, women have accumulated more weight than men, children and adolescents. Read More

Glaucoma is the third cause of blindness

According to the World Health Organization, approximately 14 million people in the world suffer from glaucoma; in Mexico it is estimated that 20% of the population is at risk of having this disease, which represents the third cause of blindness on the planet. Read More

Hypertension detonates brain diseases

This World Day of Arterial Hypertension is celebrated on May 17, a condition that affects the Mexican population more every day. Currently, 30% of Mexicans over 20 years of age have high blood pressure. More than 50% of men over 60 suffer from it, while in women the condition occurs in almost 60% for the same age range. Read More

Métabolique

50% de ceux qui souffrent d'une crise cardiaque perdent la vie

Selon César Rodríguez, président du Conseil latino-américain des soins cardiovasculaires, environ 50% des personnes victimes d'une crise cardiaque perdent la vie avant d'arriver à l'hôpital. Cette maladie représente la première cause de décès au Mexique et les principaux facteurs de risque pour la développer sont: Lire La Suite

L'acidocétose diabétique peut être mortelle

Le diabète sucré (DM) est considéré comme un problème de santé publique et son incidence ne cesse de croître dans le monde entier. Au Mexique, plus de quatre millions de personnes sont atteintes de cette maladie et un peu plus d’un million n’ont pas encore été diagnostiquées. Lire La Suite

Contrôler le diabète à Noël

Pour profiter des merveilles de la saison des vacances, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte les risques pour les diabétiques. Les centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies du gouvernement des États-Unis suggèrent des conseils pratiques que les patients peuvent appliquer pendant les vacances. Pour ne pas interrompre le plan d'alimentation: Lire La Suite

Les chiffres au Mexique de l'obésité chez les personnes âgées

Une étude nationale sur la santé et le vieillissement réalisée au Mexique en 2000 a révélé qu'environ 30% de la population âgée analysée était malnutrie et 15% obèse. La malnutrition est plus répandue parmi les habitants des zones rurales que parmi les citadins, tandis que l'obésité est plus répandue dans les zones urbaines. Lire La Suite

Le cholestérol est plus fréquent chez l'homme

À l’heure actuelle, la population du district fédéral se caractérise par un ensemble de valeurs très élevées en triglycérides; pour les niveaux de cholestérol qui dépassent le chiffre jugé acceptable, soit 200 milligrammes par décilitre de sang. Bien que ce problème ne provoque pas d'inconfort direct, il peut endommager les artères du cerveau et du cœur, les viscères abdominaux et les membres inférieurs. Les autres effets pouvant en résulter sont les maladies cardiovasculaires, en particulier les cardiopathies ischémiques et l'hypertension artérielle, du fait que les plaques graisseuses s'accumulent dans les artères, ce qui rend difficile la Lire La Suite

Daniel von Bargen tente de se suicider

La tentative de suicide de Daniel von Bargen a généré une surprise dans la société. L'acteur, connu sous le nom de "M. Kruger" dans la série télévisée Seinfeld, s'est tiré une balle dans la tempe avec un pistolet Colt38 pour "échapper" aux complications engendrées par le diabète. Lire La Suite

Diabète sucré et personnes âgées

C'est l'une des maladies non contagieuses les plus fréquentes au monde. Il s’agit du diabète sucré, groupe de maladies métaboliques ayant en commun la présence d’une augmentation du taux de sucre (glucose) dans le sang, due à une altération de la sécrétion d’insuline par le pancréas ou à un manque d’efficacité de son action. sur les tissus du corps. Lire La Suite

Dibètes et mortalité chez les personnes âgées

Jusqu'en août 2010; 22 mille 30 adultes ont été détectés avec le diabète au Mexique. Dans une interview avec Dr. María Esther Lozano Dávila. Directeur adjoint du programme Vieillissement pour les programmes préventifs et le contrôle des maladies, parle du diabète. Lire La Suite

La diverticulose est fréquente chez les personnes âgées

Si vous faites partie des personnes qui consomment des aliments transformés, sachez que votre alimentation ne contient pas suffisamment de fibres et qu'il est fort probable que vous souffriez de constipation, de selles dures et que vous deviez faire beaucoup d'efforts au moment d'aller aux toilettes. Ces actions pourraient augmenter la pression dans votre côlon et générer une diverticulose, c'est-à-dire la formation de petites poches ou de sacs dans la paroi interne de l'intestin, principalement dans les zones épaisses. Causes et facteurs de risque Selon les spécialistes des instituts nationaux de la santé des États-Unis, les causes de la for Lire La Suite

Le diabète chez les personnes âgées

Le diabète est une maladie dans laquelle le corps ne produit pas d'insuline ou ne l'utilise pas correctement. L'insuline est une hormone nécessaire pour transformer le sucre, l'amidon et d'autres aliments en énergie dont nous avons besoin pour notre vie quotidienne. Dans une interview avec Dr. María Esther Lozano Dávila. Directeur adjoint du programme Vieillissement pour les programmes préventifs et le contrôle des maladies, parle du diabète. Lire La Suite

Le manque de vitamines B provoque la dépression et la fatigue

Le manque de vitamines B1, B6 et B12 est une cause fréquente de dépression, de fatigue et de perte de masse musculaire chez les personnes âgées, a déclaré le Dr Martín Dávalos Gómez, spécialiste en gériatrie à l'Institut de sécurité sociale du Mexique (IMSS) à Jalisco. Le médecin a indiqué que la carence en vitamine B12 était une cause de sarcopénie, un trouble caractérisé par la diminution de la masse musculaire, de l'amincissement et de la fragilité. Lire La Suite

Impact du surpoids et de l'obésité chez les femmes

La situation est préoccupante: dans 20 États du pays, dont 10 situés dans la région du Nord, la prévalence de l'obésité dépasse la moyenne nationale, qui est de 32,4%. La mauvaise nouvelle concerne la population féminine: dans ces États, les femmes ont acquis plus de poids que les hommes, les enfants et les adolescents. Lire La Suite

Le glaucome est la troisième cause de cécité

Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, environ 14 millions de personnes dans le monde souffrent de glaucome; au Mexique, on estime que 20% de la population est à risque de contracter cette maladie, qui représente la troisième cause de cécité sur la planète. Lire La Suite

L'hypertension provoque des maladies du cerveau

La Journée mondiale de l'hypertension artérielle est célébrée le 17 mai, une maladie qui affecte davantage la population mexicaine chaque jour. À l'heure actuelle, 30% des Mexicains âgés de plus de 20 ans souffrent d'hypertension. Plus de 50% des hommes de plus de 60 ans en souffrent, alors que chez les femmes, cette maladie touche près de 60% des personnes du même groupe d’âge. Lire La Suite